• 2012 President and 2013 President
  • OKU Historian makes a presentation.
  • OKU officers
Omicron Kappa Upsilon Kappa Kappa Chapter

Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the national honor society of dentistry, was founded in 1914 to recognize and promote outstanding scholarship and exemplary character development within dental education. Temple University's chapter - Kappa Kappa - was chartered in 1937. Election in the spring semester of the senior year is considered by many to be the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a graduate of the DMD program.

New Alumni Members 2014

OKU Kappa Kappa Chapter inducted their newest members from the Class of 2014 at a lovely reception and  brunch at  Valley Green Inn on Sunday April 27, 2014   President Dr. Wanda Gordon, along with the President-elect, Dr Belinda Bown-Joseph and Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Louis Tarnoff performed the honors of inducting the newest members: Kaila A. Arnold, Peter R. Blessington, Tommy Cao, Joshua A. Capozzi, Tamatha S. Franks, Gavin H. Green, Lauren Harper,Mark B. Kogan, Jeffrey M. Lake, James B. Lewis, Damian K. Mariano, Katherin M. Peck, Evan S. Wardius, Danielle C. Wilt, Destinee E. Zablocki, and from the Advanced Standing Program, Dr. Patricia Campillo-Peralta.To right, Dr. Jon Suzuki (Secretary-Treasurer of the Supreme Chapter of OKU), Dr. Meredith Bogert (2009 President), Dr. Susan Chialastri (President-Elect) and Dr. Louis Tarnoff (Secretary-Treasurer).

Kramer Award Winner 2014

Matthew S. Campbell, Class of 2015..


The Kappa Kappa Chapter is an active organization at Temple University Kornberg School of Dentistry sponsoring many activities through out the academic year.

In August, we are part of the Orientation Program for in-coming freshman.  Our Historian, Dr Juan Arocho and active member, Dr Jack Hollingsworth give a brief overview about the Honor Society and then there is a CD that runs continuously throughout the orientation luncheon to answer questions about OKU.

We have been a financial sponsor for the Haiti Trip which is a goodwill mission manned by dental students and some faculty members who spend a week in Haiti in the fall providing dental care including extractions and dental education. We have supported the research efforts of 2 students who presented their work in England in the Spring.

We have also been a financial sponsor of the White Coat Ceremony, which is the induction ceremony for the new juniors when they receive their white clinic coats as a symbol of the transition from preclinical lab work to the clinical experience with patients. The President of OKU usually is part of the “distribution of the coats”.

There have exciting changes for the predoctoral clinic at Kornberg School of Dentistry moving from a disciplined-based model to a comprehensive care clinical model.  In the spirit of the academic excellence that the OKU Honor Fraternity exemplifies, our members voted to support a competition among the junior and senior students for a case documentation which would follow a case from treatment planning to the successful completion of the proposed treatment plan including extensive documentation with radiographs, photos, diagnostic study casts, etc  The first Omicron Kappa Upsilon Case Presentation Award for Excellence competition  involved members of  the Class of 2014 and 2015.  The award  consists of a permanent plaque with the winner's name for each year on display in a prominent area in the clinic along with a monetary prize.  The award will  be an annual event presented to the dental community and the cases will be evaluated by a panel dental school faculty and peers.

This years winners were First Prize-Kaushik Sharma, Second Prize- Kunahl Patel and Third Prize- Brian F. Leong
Also check out the National OKU website at www.oku.org

Kappa Kappa Officers for 2013-2014

President                           Dr.  Wanda Gordon

President- Elect                Dr. Belinda Bown-Joseph

Vice-President                  Dr.  Shari Sklar

Secretary-Treasurer          Dr. Louis Tarnoff

Immediate Past-President Dr. Mohamed Bassiouny

Members of OKU actively participating in the orientation for freshman students